[the entire letter is in the same hand]

September the 8 1862 camps

campe five miles North of ritchmon
Dear Wife I Seete my self this
Morning to let you knoo how I am
getting A longe I have bin writ bad
but I am on the mand rit Smart
I think of the chiles an fevers the
water is bad hit is as warm as the
branch water is a bout hear
we get meet and berede but not very
plenty I will tell you
I have lay and thaught and wish
I was at home so as I cold eate
som of them good frut
fo we git nuthing to eat sich heare
Dear Wife I ont [1] you to write wether
you have reseived aney leter
from me or not and I onte you to
git me a pair of shous fo my
old ones ar nery give out and
send them bey R Y Whicker
when he comes I wold like to see you
all vere well and tell levei I thauht
of his big he has cut up I [?]
luft to be him to see som more
[page 2]
send my best respect to Willies and
Catherine all so tell Nancey E Swann
I Send my bst respect to her
and the rest of them teel [???] Swaim
I dont half as much
fun hear as I culd writ her
I have as much but hit is
harder to start for my mind is
on what we haft to
[???] fight So no more at
present Dear Wife writ sone
as you git this leter remand
your affectnat Husband on tell
death from Robert Spainhour
to Phebe Spainhourd
Dear wife
N Hines To N G Whicker and
John Swaim I have nothing to
writ I hant well as I have be in
whe we have bin on some spreys
I have saw rit smart of the cuntry
in a short time saw too of
the larges twones [2] I ever saw

Peters burg and Richmon
[page 3]
tha ar rit Smart sit to see
Peterburg is Six miles square
Richmon is nine miles square
I send my best respect to Robert
Swaim all so to lincey Whicker
and all the rest of the boys
I heard the irnewoks
[??] at home and haft to live [3] be fore
long and tha [???] tewl them to all
to come hear if tha ont to Join a god
regement but not dissaisfy them self
we have drod rifel gones tha will
hold up from three to
five hundreth yeards Peaches is teenty
five sents dusen sider teenty five sents
No more at present ont [4] you all ot [5]
writ as son as you can
from Robert Spainhour
To Phebe Spainhor

Send me a pare of Shoes bey
R R Y Whicker when he
[page 4]
Dear Wife I take my pen in hand
to let you know I am well at
present and I those fewe lines
ma find you all well at home I
Dear Wife I ont you to writ what
the irnwoks [6] fers [????????????] 
we drill five hours a day and git
tolbal good far now tha report
is tha armey is in marlan
crost the potomick river tha is
thousand cavelier and artilley
[??????] tha report is that
wasinton siy is a sot a fire [??]
[?????] davis has
[??????] no more at pre
I ont you to have my bwots
send them bey R Y Whicker
when he comes hit is thaught
in camp that pace will be made
in too or three mon[t]h no more
at present writ as swon as you
git this Remand you affect
Husband un tell death
James Marshall to Jane Marshall

  1. ont = want?
  2. towns
  3. live = leave
  4. ont = want
  5. ot = to
  6. ironworks?
September 8, 1862


Name Variant: 
Co. D, 57th North Carolina Infantry
Residence (County): 
Forsyth County, NC
Name Variant: 
Residence (County): 
Forsyth County, NC


Name Variant: 
Residence (County): 
Forsyth County, NC
Name Variant: 
Residence (County): 
Forsyth County, NC


From State: 
From Municipality: 
From Note: 
"campe five miles North of ritchmon"


To State: 
North Carolina
To County: 

Transcription/Proofing Info

Michael Ellis
Transcription Date: 
September, 2011
M. Ellis
Proof Date: 
September, 2011

Get in touch

  • Department of History
    220 LeConte Hall, Baldwin Street
    University of Georgia
    Athens, GA 30602-1602
  • 706-542-2053

eHistory was founded at the University of Georgia in 2011 by historians Claudio Saunt and Stephen Berry

Learn More about eHistory