Jun the 4 1864
                            taladiger Conty
    Moth i dop you a few lin
to let you no we ar all wel
and hope when this letter
come to had it may find you
well i wont to cea you you
so bad i wish you could come
over her i think i will come
in 3 or 4 weakes after [june?]
in that time i wil hav my
wheat out and hav some
chickens large e nof to eat
our rashines is small yo ned
not doubt it mar you rot
to Caildonia to sen
you some stampes she has non
i wil send you some and sen
you 1 dollar in this letter
i hav but 3 dollar i do
wish you worse close to mea
i look for mr Hunt home
[page 2]
Next weake you meat wit
Nothing mor at presant
remain you child
tel deth Sod[abs?][Ra?] Hunt
Deare gran mar [nedde?]
I did get yo letter
I was glad to
Hr from yo grammar
I hav nothing to rite
mrI has rote all so
tha I hav herd nose
to tell margaret
margreet I did get
a letter from [?evry?]
to day he rote to mea
that long will was
fill he sed he did not
know whair he was hit
tho pore fellow he
is dun with this ware I
margaret [bair?] it as well
as yo can fair well

June 4, 1864



Residence (County): 
Randolph County, AL

Transcription/Proofing Info

Andrea Cudworth
Transcription Date: 
April, 2012
Michael Ellis
Proof Date: 
April, 2013

Get in touch

  • Department of History
    220 LeConte Hall, Baldwin Street
    University of Georgia
    Athens, GA 30602-1602
  • 706-542-2053
  • admin@ehistory.org

eHistory was founded at the University of Georgia in 2011 by historians Claudio Saunt and Stephen Berry

Learn More about eHistory