Dissember 15 1862
my Der wife i take my pen
in hand to in form you that
i am not werry well at
Bressent i have a sare
scrote Dis three Days ar ready
and i let you know that i did
cum to go my rethmint to
Day and i let you know
that i am Clat [1] that i am
here i Did slep the hole time
wis out Blanket and i did
frees mast to Deas [2]
and i let you know
that i wase 2 day and 2 neith
on the steme Boat
and i like it well a nuf
here so fare But i woud
like it Beter at home
ilet you know that i did
seen more that i ever seen
Jonathen Boyer
[Page 2]
mary Dullen Bone
Dond forget
and rite my aleter
[page 3]
my Der fathr and mother
irite dis few line to you
that i am By my
rethment and i am
werry clat that i am here
and i let you know
our eding is wery small
here and [obscured by fold in paper.]
[Page 2]
and i let you know that i am
about two hundred and fifty mild
from home
and Dond for ged and Bray
for mey evr day
and i let you know
that i did Drem ever with it
from home Dont for get and Bray
and i will too
[Address section]
Mr. Jonathan Boyer
Co I 173rd Regt PV
Camp [vule?]
Norfolk, virginia
in care of Copl Sha
(via Baltimore MD) [3]

  1. Clat = glad
  2. Deas = death
  3. Penned next to address
December 15, 1862


Co. I, 173rd PA Infantry (drafted militia)
Residence (County): 
Lancaster County, PA


Name Variant: 
“Der wife”
Residence (County): 
Lancaster County, PA


From State: 
From Municipality: 


To State: 
To County: 

Transcription/Proofing Info

Bambi Whitaker
Transcription Date: 
September, 2012
M. Ellis
Proof Date: 
November, 2012

Get in touch

  • Department of History
    220 LeConte Hall, Baldwin Street
    University of Georgia
    Athens, GA 30602-1602
  • 706-542-2053

eHistory was founded at the University of Georgia in 2011 by historians Claudio Saunt and Stephen Berry

Learn More about eHistory