Camp Neare Dalton Gea
Jan the24 1864
Deare Mat I reseved
your very kind leter and was
Glad to heare that you and the
children was all well and am
glad to state to you that I am
in tolarble health onley I have
Considerble Cold at this time
I am sory to heare that you Canot get
a negro I do think that thare Can be
one of some sorte got if you cant
get a man i would get a woman
as I dont se how you Can make bread
unless you do get one of some sorte
so tell pap to get one if posible
my Deare wife I am very antious
to se you and the children and I think
chances is tolarble god for a
furleagh after a while if the times
do know change so I still livee
[page 2]
in hopes so Deare mat chare up
and do knot be Deshaten but trust
in god give my love to pap and mary
and the children hes has gone home on
a furlowgh tell pap that Jim and mils
sends thare love to him and wish him
god luck well mat you do knot kno
how much god it wowld do me to
imbrase yow once more and to se
owr babe but I live in grate hopes of
having the opertunity before long
mat I want you to remember me in
yow prars that I may be sparde to
se you all onse more Deare mat tell
the children howdy and tell them to
think of me all thowgh I am 200 hunded
miles of my mind and afection is
all ways with you may god bles
and preserve yow and give yow strength
meate all obsticle and that we may
son se each other face to face is my
prare John

January 24, 1864


Company H, 37 GA Infantry


Wife of John McCorkle


From State: 
From Municipality: 
From County: 


To State: 
To Municipality: 
To County: 

Transcription/Proofing Info

Andrea Cudworth
Transcription Date: 
April, 2012
Michael Ellis
Proof Date: 
November, 2012

Get in touch

  • Department of History
    220 LeConte Hall, Baldwin Street
    University of Georgia
    Athens, GA 30602-1602
  • 706-542-2053

eHistory was founded at the University of Georgia in 2011 by historians Claudio Saunt and Stephen Berry

Learn More about eHistory